Show Me The Money

Actually you don’t want to show me the money but like my good friend Tom says above, “Show God the Money.” Now that I have your attention, I want to talk about a subject that people don’t really like to talk about too often, yup…you guessed it.  We’re going to talk about money.  I know what you’re thinking, “again?” or “that’s all the church cares about.” Let me tell you something, money was so important to Jesus that he actually talked about it more than he did heaven and hell combined.  Pretty important subject if you ask me.  Over the next few blogs, we’re going to answer the question, “Why does God want me to be a giver?”

What’s the first thing that comes to your mind when you hear the word “giving?” Is it time? Is it talent? Or is it finances?  I bet it was finances, right?  Well, when God talks about giving, it’s actually all of the above.  They all tie together for us to fulfill God’s purpose in our lives.  Let me ask you a question, “Have you been using your time, talent and treasure the way God has wanted you to or have you been selfish?”   One of the greatest temptations we face in this age is to be selfish.  Many have the mentality, “I’ll help you, but what am I going to get in return?” Even John D. Rockefeller at the height of his career when asked by a person, “How much do you really need?” He responded with, “…just a little bit more.” He was making over $1,000,000.00 a month.  Just another picture of selfishness.

The bottom line is when we put God first, he’ll work everything out. (Matthew 6:33) He created us to be givers (we were made in his image and God himself is the biggest giver of all).  He’ll give us things that money can’t buy.  He’ll give us peace in the midst of turmoil.  You’ll be able to keep your head up even when you’re in a battle.  Even when things ain’t going right, you’ll still serve the Lord with joy and say “I know God can turn it around. I serve a big God.  I serve a Mighty God.  My God is about breakthroughs.  My God is about turning situations around.  My God is about healing broken hearts. My God is about restoring and making things brand new.”

Here is an example of someone that didn’t put God first:

Are you putting God first in your life?  Or are you being selfish like that guy in the video?  It’s wasn’t even his pie to begin with.  And that’s what many people do in their lives when they don’t put God first…they’ll put him last.  They’ll take care of everything else in life and then leave God with nothing.  That’s not how God works.  Even when we’re unfaithful, God is still faithful.  Are you putting God first in your life today?  Are you giving the way he wants you to?  Are you taking care of your responsibilities but leaving God last?  Where your priorities are will determine where you struggle or prosper in life.  God wants you to prosper.  Take some time today to see where you can improve in your giving.  It’s never too late to become a better giver in all areas of your life.

Command those who are rich in this present world not to be arrogant nor to put their hope in wealth, which is so uncertain, but to put their hope in God, who richly provides us with everything for our enjoyment. Command them to do good, to be rich in good deeds, and to be generous and willing to share.” (1 Timothy 6:17-18)

7 comments

  1. Yes so true!! I have many unsaved family even my boys, I’m standing in the gap for. I can’t afford not to give finances or of myself!! He’s not asking for much. I think about all that I ask him 4 and can’t imagine him withholding from me. Like our Pastor teaches us open hand policy!! Great blog!!

  2. Well pastor just want to say such an awesome blog, I myself am a giver because I love the blessings that the lord gives because you can never out give him, his givings are always bigger that’s why the lord always say test him in this area and he will show his glory, and the funny thing is, I don’t even have a job, but God is good and good all the time amen thank you beloved bro George Rivas victory Outreach centro Bakersfield

  3. guilty!! how many times in my walk with God have I been the guy in the video. Oh well I gave her and there and over there!!etc. Yet God has brought me through my selfishness to a place in my life where he has assumed Lordship over His finances. Yes, I thought they were mine and that God gave them to me to distribute. But , nope! I have learned that God has commissioned me with stewardship! How great is our God that he gave me His money to learn how to manage it, by starting with me!!2 Corinthians 9:6-15. Our Lord Jesus has used his money to teach me that when I am faithful with it not only am I given the oppertunity to prove faithful with more but also my inner-man is released to reign over the unrightouesness i had packed in my suitcase. Now I got a new wardrobe IN CHRIST a double -breasted suit of generosity that’s tailor made for me in Gods throne room!

  4. Very touching video. It relates to more than money because there’s other things that can come before God that may not even be a sin, just our To Do List of chores, errands, etc. And if it weren’t for HIS blessings, I wouldn’t have so much to do. Thank you for this sword-like video msg.

Leave a Reply

