Don’t Fret

It’s been awhile since I’ve been able to sit down and share a cup of coffee with you.  But since the last time we’ve talked, so much has happened within my own life.  I am so excited to see what God is doing within our movement Victory Outreach International [we just came back from our World Conference in Los Angeles, CA], our local church in Whittier [we are currently in the process of purchasing a new building] and within my own personal life.  God has been so good to me.  It is out of a full heart that I share today’s devotion with you.  I pray that you are blessed, motivated and ready to do all that God has for you.  Why? Because that’s exactly what I feel right now as well.  Take a few moments to pray right now that God will open up your heart as you read today’s blog entitled, “Don’t fret.”

Do not fret because of those who are evil 
   or be envious of those who do wrong; 

for like the grass they will soon wither, 
   like green plants they will soon die away.” – Psalm 37:1-2

Have you ever been envious of someone else’s life?  Maybe they had a car that you wanted? A job? A salary? A husband? A wife? See where this is going?  If we’re honest with ourselves, I’m sure we can all trace back to a time where we weren’t satisfied with our own life and wanted something to change.  Maybe you’re there today.  Maybe you find yourself in a place where something isn’t where you want it to be.  Maybe financially you are having a hard time making ends meat. Or maybe there is a relationship in your life that seems unfixable.  Or just maybe another situation has you in a bind.  Wherever you are today, I want you to know that God sees your situation and he is able to change everything around.

Just recently in my own life…I almost fell into this trap.  I was visiting a new church building of a well known pastor around the world.  I was blown away by the story that I heard that day.  Not only was this building in a very nice area, it was able to sit a lot of people…but it was also FREE! Let me say that again…it was FREE!  I was stopped in my tracks for a second.  Part of me wanted to complain to God and say, “God what about us? What about Whittier? God you know I want to reach people.  Why can’t we just have the building for FREE like this man?”  It was at that moment when the Holy Spirit began to minister to my heart and say, “Joe, you don’t know what he’s sown.  You don’t know what he has had to go through to get here.  Focus on the field that I have given you.”  So many times we do this.  Don’t get fooled.  The grass isn’t always greener on the other side.  The grass is greener where you water it.

If you continue to read Psalms 37, it goes on to give some really great insights into how we can turn our focus from us & our circumstances to God.  Some keys words are for us to “Trust,” “Delight,” & “Commit.”  I want to camp out on that word delight before we wrap up our conversation for today.  That word delight actually refers to us being soft and moldable in reference to clay.  Once clay becomes hardened, it’s of no value.  It becomes stuck in that condition.  Sadly, there are many christians today who are stuck and have been stuck in the same conditions for years.  Do you know anyone like that? Maybe a friend? A family member? I’m sure we all do.  When we’re obedient to God, his blessings will follow.

God doesn’t bless disobedience.  Why? Well, let me ask you a question…would you?  If you asked your kids to take out the trash and they responded, “you do it you jerk.” Would the next words that come out of your mouth be “you know what? Let me take you to the mall and get you whatever you’d like.” I didn’t think so.  It’s the same with God. If we stay close to God, we’ll have that peace that only he can bring.  If God has shown me one thing these past few months its for me to keep that intimate relationship with him like never before.  I want to encourage you to do the same.  Don’t fret!  In other words…don’t start to spoil.  Don’t let anything in this world cause you to fall apart.  And when you’re close to God…he won’t let that happen.

6 comments

  1. Thank you Pastor Joe I really needed that Coffee Break sometimes I want to say so much but now as I am getting older I am learning not to say to much and be that example and wait for Gods blessings and I have to say he has been doing a Great Job for my Life. We serve an awesome God and I know now he didn’t bring us this far to let us drown, He is make sure for his people! that we hold on for his BEST!!!
    for his Best is yet to come….

  2. Encouraging Blog Pastor Joe. You and Sister Doreen are a great examples of FAITH. God bless you and your family and VOW!

  3. Amen! Pastor Joe..thank you. A lot of confirmation..I have been pressing in and have a beautiful relationship with Jesus. I feel His love and support with every decision I’ve been making. The peace of God is with me. Times are hard right now…but I feel peace. I’m waiting for the next chapter in my life. I have the love of God and my children to get me through this rough patch. But, I have the joy of the Lord. Lots of love..Sister Teresa

  4. Thank for the wisdom you share with us, I like the part you said about the clay, being able to mold us when we are soft. and some of the clay gets hard, some get stuck in a unuseable condition. I know that the Lord wants to use all of us. God is a gentle God I know he will never hurt us. He has great plans for all of us. God Bless you Ps Joe and Sis Dorren….

  5. Thanks for your words of remembrance of what HE is capable of doing for me. I will try not to fret when I look at my circumstances and my son’s ailment. Thank you God for what you have done for me and our ministry.

Leave a Reply

