Are You Fruitful?

“”I am the true vine, and my Father is the gardener. He cuts off every branch in me that bears no fruit, while every branch that does bear fruit he prunes so that it will be even more fruitful. You are already clean because of the word I have spoken to you. Remain in me, as I also remain in you. No branch can bear fruit by itself; it must remain in the vine. Neither can you bear fruit unless you remain in me. “I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.” – John 15:1-6

As you take time to read through this blog today, please take time to examine your own life.  I really feel that Jesus was communicating a very important lesson to his disciples with the portion of scripture we just read.  It was important because this was his last intentional moment he was going to have before heading to the garden of gethsemane and ultimately the cross.

Have you ever wondered why God has a pruning process?  I mean why can’t we just receive the promises of God without having to go through a process?  I asked myself this question one day when my pomegranate tree was pruned (Side Note: I love me some good fruit).  Well, one day when I went outside to grab me a nice piece of fruit…to my surprise…my entire tree was pruned!  After i gathered myself (just joking)…my good friend explained to me that this tree needed to be pruned so it could produce sweeter fruit.  And guess what? He was right!  That’s exactly what God does in our life.  You might not be enjoying the process…but believe me without that pruning, we will never enjoy the prize.

Before closing up today, I would like to leave you with a few thoughts.

  1. Are you Fruitful? When you look at your life, are you producing fruit? We’ll get into what fruit is a little bit more in my next blogs but there are Four Levels of Fruit that are brought out in this passage: No Fruit, Fruit, More Fruit & Much Fruit.  Which level are you at?
  2. Is Anything Severing Your Relationship with God? Severed means “pulled, cut, broken or severely damaged.” “In the world, we’ll have relationships/friendships that are damaged…but we can’t let our relationship with God get pulled, cut, broken or severely damaged. We can’t let hardships or trials affect us.
  3. Are There Air Bubbles in Your Life? A very important part of processing clay is when the Potter takes a mallet and methodically pounds the clay layer by layer.  He’ll pound it over and over again until he feels that all the air bubbles are gone.  Air bubbles can’t be seen with the naked eye. The air bubbles could be anger, jealousy, lust, etc. And if clay goes into the fire with air bubbles…the clay will pop.  When God allows us to go through the fire, he wants us to come out as gold…not to pop.  We’re not worthy of the promise if we can’t handle the process.
So where do you stand today in your life? Are you fruitful? Are you allowing anything to severe your relationship with God? Are there any air bubbles in your life? Jesus continually says “Remain in me.” The real question is “Are you with me?” He’s continually saying, “I’m not going anywhere”…but are you?
Leave a Reply

