The Proof is in the Pudding

The Proof is in the Pudding.” Have you ever heard that phrase before?  If you do a little research, you’ll see that the meaning of this phrase is often summed up as “results are what count.”  Results! Results! Results! I love results. I don’t just do things just to do them.  I don’t wake up with aimless efforts.  I’m very intentional with my time…even to the point of where I know where I want my life to be in 5 years, 10 years and even beyond.  I love to see results in my personal life, in my family, in my ministry and every other area of my life.  You know who else loves to see results? Jesus.  He loves to see results.  In John 15, Jesus was trying to prepare the disciples for what was about to come. Another word for results is fruit.  Let me ask you a question…is there fruit in your life?

I’m sure there is plenty of fruit in your life. If you have a job…fruit would be your paycheck.  If you’re a student…fruit would be your GPA and ultimately your degree.  If you’re taking the time to read this…fruit would be what you do with this after you’re done.  You like fruit too.  Wouldn’t it be a waste of your time to work 40 hours a week just for someone to give you a pat on the back and thank you for a job well done?  While that might feel good…what keeps you coming back day in and day out is that paycheck to provide for the needs that you have.  We love fruit…especially in the areas that we care about.  We’ll make adjustments: if we need more money, we’ll cut spending…if our health is at risk, we’ll go on a strict diet…if we want to further our education, we’ll take the required classes…if we want to be better parents, we’ll seek advice.  You get the picture. There are a few areas that Jesus cared about…and he even calls them fruit.  Before we close up today…I want to share six things that were labeled fruit in the New Testament.  Take some time to evaluate your own life today…is there spiritual fruit in your life?

Six Things the New Testament Calls Fruit:

  1. Winning Souls [Romans 1:13/John 4:35-38]
  2. Holiness & Obedience [Romans 6:22]
  3. Financial Giving [Romans 15:26-29]
  4. Good Works [Colossians 1:10]
  5. The Praise that comes from our Lips [Hebrews 13:5]
  6. Love [Galatians 5:22-23]
As you take time to study each on your own…i pray that you’ll not only be able to see what fruit you have or don’t have at this moment…but also feel the desire to bear more fruit…fruit that will last.
Leave a Reply

