About My Father’s Business

I’m not saying that I have this all together, that I have it made. But I am well on my way, reaching out for Christ, who has so wondrously reached out for me. Friends, don’t get me wrong: By no means do I count myself an expert in all of this, but I’ve got my eye on the goal, where God is beckoning us onward—to Jesus. I’m off and running, and I’m not turning back.

So let’s keep focused on that goal, those of us who want everything God has for us. If any of you have something else in mind, something less than total commitment, God will clear your blurred vision—you’ll see it yet! Now that we’re on the right track, let’s stay on it. – Philippians 3:12-16

As we look into this scripture today, I want to set a foundation for the next few blogs to come.  I’ve entitled this blog “About My Father’s Business.” Let me start off by asking you, are you about your father’s business?  What comes to your mind when you think about that question? Is it your church attendance? Your relationship with God? Your finances? Maybe your time and how you use it? Well, all those are great answers but above all…are you about God’s Perfect Will for your life? Do you know what his perfect will is for your life?  And if you don’t know it, are you striving to find out what it is?

What I love about this scripture is that we see a picture of a man that was toward the end of his ministry…and even in prison, yet he was still striving for all that God had for his life.  He had his eye on the goal! Are your eyes on the goal that God has set before you? He said that he had not arrived yet but he knew that God was taking him somewhere.  He knew that there was still work to do.  If you’re reading this today, I want you to know that the same applies for you.  It doesn’t matter if you’re 12 years old, 35 years old or even 80 years old…there’s still something for you to do for God.  Your mission is not complete! You are still full of life, full of destiny and God has something specific just for you! I pray that you are stirred just as I was when I read this scripture.  I couldn’t help but think “I want everything that God has for me, for my family and for my church!”

There’s so much more to this scripture (so we’ll continue this in another blog) but I want to encourage you to be like Paul where he was focused and he didn’t look back.  Today is a new day to step into all that God has for you.  Take that step towards all that God has for you and watch God show up and show off!

One comment

  1. I see being about my Father’s business as becoming the human being that God created me to be “made in the image and likeness of God” and “partaking in the divine nature”. I see it as less about “doing” and more about being! I believe that we are to be one with the Father as Yeshua prayed to God we would be. If we were all one with the Father, what do you think we would be doing? blessings for your journey!

Leave a Reply

