Positioning Yourself to Receive all that God has for Your Life: Part 3

PositioningBlog (WEB) Today we’re going to jump into the third step in positioning ourselves to receive all that God has for our lives.  If you missed the previous two blogs, take some time to read them before continuing on.

Positioning Yourself to Receive all that God has for Your Life: Part 1

Positioning Yourself to Receive all that God has for Your Life: Part 2

The third step to keep in mind when we talk about positioning ourselves is: Repentance should lead to change, open to change & open to grow.

Road_Trip_-_Repentance_-_ART

“Godly sorrow brings repentance that leads to salvation and leaves no regret, but worldly sorrow brings death.” – 2 Corinthians 7:10

We have to constantly take time to evaluate our lives before God.  We never should come to a point in our lives where we stop being grateful for where God brought us out of.  It is only by His grace & mercy that we are here today.  I still wake up to this day saying, “Lord, be merciful to me a sinner. Lord, I thank you that you’re still merciful to this filthy animal.” I say filthy animal…because that’s exactly what I’d be without God.  I never want to get to a point in my life where I think I’ve arrived.  Or where I begin to get comfortable and start to live a mediocre life.  I want to become all that God has created me to be and accomplish all the great things that He has set out for me to accomplish in my lifetime.  And i believe because you are taking the time to read this…that’s exactly how you feel too!

I love this portion of scripture where Paul is writing to the church of Corinth.  He is warning them and us today that we should never get to a point where we sear our conscious.  We should have a repentance evident in our life that brings about salvation (in other words…a life that will lead to revelation or understanding).  And what is that understanding? In simple terms for you and I…sin brings pain.  How many times have you touched the iron in your life before finally realizing “it’s hot, don’t touch it?” Today I want to have a little heart to heart with you and ask you, is there anything in your life where the Holy Spirit is requiring repentance for?

getaway_grow_fnl

“We do not dare to classify or compare ourselves with some who commend themselves. When they measure themselves by themselves and compare themselves with themselves, they are not wise.” – 2 Corinthians 10:12

Paul again is speaking to a group of people who have taken the liberty to compare themselves with themselves.  Have you ever known someone to do this?  They were pretty much saying, “the measurement of greatest is me…” Now let me go just a little bit further, have you ever been guilty of this? When we’re stubborn or we get to a point where we stop or prevent the holy spirit from changing us..then we run the danger of being like the people from Corinth and we begin to compare ourselves with ourselves. If there’s not real repentance in our lives…there won’t be change because we won’t be open for change.  We’ll think we’re right.  And if we continue down that route we could end up like the adulterous woman in proverbs:

“This is the way of an adulterous woman:     She eats and wipes her mouth     and says, ‘I’ve done nothing wrong.’”Proverbs 30:20

spiritual-blog-search-me

Before we end today…take time to answer this really honest question.  Am I growing?  To add to that question…are you growing in the areas that you need to grow in?  I’ve had to come to this crossroads in my walk with God many times…and in the end, I am responsible for my own growth.  No one else can do it for me and I can’t do it for you.  Are you taking time in your life to really think about the areas that the Holy Spirit is trying to adjust in your life?  Are you allowing Him access into your life? I want to encourage you today to really look at your life and ask the Holy Spirit to begin to reveal to you the areas in your life that He needs to work on in order for you to be more like Jesus.  Isn’t that our goal above everything? To be more like Jesus.

Here’s a starting list of things to begin to evaluate in your life (I’m sure you can add more.  But take time to ask, “where do I need to grow?”)

-Personality

-Emotions

-Stability

-Moods

-Enlargement of Your Spirit

-Love

-Commitment

-Giving

Leave a Reply

