Like they say in French, “Numero Uno”

Are you putting God first in every area of your life?  Just think about it.  Are you honoring God with your time or does he get the leftovers?  What about with your talents?  Are you putting those into practice for his honor and glory?  And finally, what about your treasure? You can call it dollar bills, dead presidents, paper, cheddar, etc. but in the end it’s still finances.  What about that area?  Is it okay if we go there today?  The only reason I ask is because people start getting a little funny when you start talking about money.  But that’s not you, right?  Let’s get into it:

“Money isn’t everything, but it’s right up there with oxygen.” -Zig Ziglar

Don’t you feel like that sometimes?  I mean we try not to make money everything in our lives…but sometimes we just can’t escape reality.  Well, let me share another reality with you, there are over 2,300 scriptures in the Bible on money and possessions.  That’s twice as many as faith and prayer combined.  If you’re a Christian, your top priority in life should be to put God first. And that also includes your finances.

“Whoever can be trusted with very little can also be trusted with much, and whoever is dishonest with very little will also be dishonest with much.  So if you have not been trustworthy in handling worldly wealth, who will trust you with true riches?” (Luke 16:10-11)

Did you catch that?  True riches! God wants to bless you with things that money can’t buy.  “You might know someone who is sick and needs a healing.  That’s something that money can’t buy.  The peace of God is something that money can’t buy.  The joy of God is something that money can’t buy.  You can have peace in the midst of a storm, but that’s something that money can’t buy.  Money can not buy your salvation.  Money can not buy your faith. Money can’t buy you a good relationship.  Money can’t give you a good marriage.  Those are things that only God can give you.”

Do you want true riches? Then position yourself for God to bless you.  I can’t do it for you.  You have to decide today that you are going to put God first even in this area of your life.  “Remember you only made that dollar or that money because God gave you the energy.  God gave you the oxygen.  God gave you the job opportunity.  God allowed you to live in this country.”

Malachi says to test God and I challenge you to test God in this area.  Bring the whole tithe into God’s storehouse and see what he does.  It will really blow your mind.  Just a few tips to help you out: (1) Bring Your First to God and (2) Bring your First 10%.  Don’t be like Cain and bring leftovers, God doesn’t take our leftovers and never gives us leftovers either.  He wants the best for us.  Take some time to reflect on your own life, have you really been putting God first in every area of your life?

 

 

2 comments

  1. when I came to VO I learned that tithing was the bomb! because God gave me so much forgiveness . dont get me wrong i have been put to the test and failed at times (blew it) but God didnt give up on me and dry the well. He convicted me by reminding me of how much He gave for me! HIS SON, and that encouraged me to continue trusting God and preparing for the next test! beleive me i dont have a “career” per say but I am not broke either. God has been faithful always to supply the need and challenge me to give . God is never late and He’s MY GOD. We only breathe oxygen because of Him . right on Pastor Joe!! Still growing, your bro, leo

  2. TO ME TITHING IS NATURAL ITS LIKE BREATHING NOW GIVING THAT IS AWESOME THAT IS A GIFT IN ITS SELF HE KNOW MY HEART I LOVE JESUS
    THANK YOU PASTOR JOE FOR ALL THAT YOU TEACH I HAVE LEARN A LOT I PRAY THAT OUR LORD JESUS WILL OPEN HEAVENS WINDOW AND BLESS YOU AND SISTER DOREEN WAY BEYOND MEASURE IN EVERY WAY AND THE KIDS TO AND I STAND ON JOHN 14:14 AND ALSO I CHALLENGE ALL THE BROTHERS AND SISTER TO TRY TITHING YOU WILL BE BLESSED AND YOU WILL BE ABLE TO GIVE GOD LOVES US SO MUCH HE GIVE HIS SON

Leave a comment